A Court of Thorns and Roses- Review

77493_originalΒ Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 416

My Rating: 5/5

I have been really excited about this book because I love Sarah J. Maas’s writing style and I have thoroughly enjoyed the other books I have read by her. I was also a bit hesitant to read this book when I first heard about it because I’ve never read a fairy tale retelling before because if not done right I’d imagine they’d end up a bit cheesy.

This book was not cheesy at all and it was the perfect start to a trilogy. I have been in the longest reading slump for the past few months and this book pulled me out of it after trying to read countless other books and failing to stick to one. I honestly don’t even know where to begin with this story.

I loved the depth that came with all of the characters. Even the servant had a tragic back story. All of the characters made me feel something. The villain was not just blindly being cruel, she had a back story and depth too. I loved all the twists and turns in this novel. Just when you thought you knew everything there was another shock you didn’t even think about.

The main character was full of depth and emotion and the descriptive language made me feel as if I was with her in all of her moments of struggle and happiness.

The world that Sarah J. Maas created in this novel was breathtaking. Even though I have never seen anything even remotely close to the ethereal world of Prythian I felt like I was there.

While the plot of this book is more aimed at the YA audience, the romance was more new adult which I enjoyed. It was nice to read something more real and I felt more connected to the romance that way.

I got chills, cried, laughed and felt so much emotion while reading this book and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an amazing read.

I hope you all enjoy this book if you decide to pick it up! (I highly recommend you do) And I’ll see you all in my next post!

11 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses- Review

    • readinginfinitly says:

      I know! I’ve loved all of the books I’ve read by her!! All of her characters are amazing! I know I need the sequel now 😦 And I’m actually not sure because through the whole book I shipped her and Tamlin but by the end I liked both! I need the next book so I can figure out who I ship her with! What about you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • acrossthebooks says:

        Same with me! At first I loved Tamlin a lot, but then I started liking Rhys when we got to know him better, haha. I really like mysterious and dark characters! I guess I’ll find out next book who I like the most. I’m really excited for the sequel, especially with the whole “one week every month” with Rhys, hahaβ™₯

        Liked by 1 person

  1. literaryitsathena says:

    My friends have been pushing me to read this book, but I never really knew anything about the story to begin with. I’m glad I read your review, I’m pumped to get my hands on it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

